Skip to content

Cloth Diapering Update

August 31, 2010

Well, another month has come and gone, and I’ve done many changes to my diapering routine. I think it’s really made a difference with Maddie’s rash. It’s come back a bit, but it’s nothing as bad as it was before.

Here’s what I’ve been doing:

  • I scoured around for diaper liners at several stores and online, but everything I saw seemed pricey. I decided to purchase $3 worth of fleece at Joann’s, and cut liners myself. They’re 5″x12″ and the perfect size to fit on the inside of the diaper against Maddie’s skin. I was able to make about 24 liners, which is even more than the number of diapers I have.
  • I change her much more frequently now. I used to change her about 5-6 times a day, but now I’m doing 8-9 times a day. This has made such a huge difference! I have to wash diapers every other day now, but at least I know she’s not sitting in a wet diaper longer than necessary.
  • I found an inexpensive drying rack at Target, and I’ve set up a place to dry Maddie’s diapers outside in the sun. The sun is a wonderful bleaching agent, and this helps to get her diapers nice and germ free.
  • The last change I’ve made I’m hoping will be temporary, and that is that I purchased a regular brand of diaper cream instead of using my natural cloth-diaper safe cream. The regular cream from the grocery store is much more concentrated, so it works much better for her. Once this little flare-up clears, I’ll go back to the natural cream.

So that’s it! I feel like I’ve come a long way in helping my little one feel better, and I’m also glad I’ve found a way to keep using my diapers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

