Skip to content

What I’ve Been Knitting: June Edition

July 16, 2010

Life has once again gotten in the way, with vacation and other odds and ends going on, so this is a wee bit late. I have gotten a bit of knitting done in the meantime, however.

The first thing I finished in June was this lovely little shawl I knit in a gorgeous purple and green yarn. I originally intended to use this yarn for a short-sleeved top, but I didn’t care for the yarn with the pattern. I wanted something that would show off the yarn without the colors getting lost in lots of pattern. I probably will wear this shawl around my neck as a scarf come colder months, as I don’t tend to wear shawls draped around my shoulders.

Since I originally planned to make a top with this yarn, I still have tons of it left over. I found a lovely little fingerless glove pattern that I think will match the shawl well, as it’s another object that uses the same stitch pattern. I may try to do those once the weather cools in autumn, as I still have several summery projects I want to finish first!

Another thing I finished was this sweet little lamb that I gave to my friend, Leslie, who had a baby boy in May. I gave the lamb a cute little bow in blue, but I forgot to take a picture with it on. Maddie found this little guy to be delightful, so I’ll have to make her one as well with the leftovers.

My final project for the month, and the one that took the longest:

I fell in love with this top as soon as I saw the pattern, and I knew I had to make it. The yarn is made from bamboo and silk–the bamboo provides coolness and the silk a gorgeous shimmer. It’s really hard to capture the pretty shimmer in the top on film, though. The top fits beautifully and I’m so happy with it. The cap sleeves are covered with lace, so I’ve included a close-up since it can be difficult to see.

This month I’ve already finished a top for Maddie, and I’m on my way to finishing a hat for my sister. Stay tuned to see these projects!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 9:58 AM

    Beautiful! That top is gorgeous, and I bet you look stunning wearing it! And if you feel like making another lamp, I know someone who collects lambs who would love it… 😉

  2. July 18, 2010 9:16 PM

    Very pretty top! You should start an etsy shop.

  3. July 19, 2010 3:47 PM

    Thanks guys! 🙂

    Leslie,
    I would love to start an Etsy shop, but copyright laws prohibit the sale of knitted items from someone else’s pattern. So, in order sell what I make, I would have to create my own designs. It’s definitely something I’d love to do someday, but I don’t yet feel comfortable enough about my knitting skills to do that.

  4. peaceliving permalink
    August 11, 2010 4:09 PM

    Beth, I just found your blog today and am loving it. So wonderful to find another faith driven mama who believes in the natural way of living.

  5. August 25, 2010 4:54 PM

    Savannah loves her lamb!! 🙂

    Random question… have you ever thought about knitting wool diapers? It looks like something you’d enjoy.

  6. August 25, 2010 4:57 PM

    Here’s what I mean: http://diaperpages.com/soaker.php

Leave a Reply

