Skip to content

What I’ve Been Knitting: May Edition

June 7, 2010

During the quiet evenings I make a pot of tea, listen to Harry Potter on audiobook, and sit down with my knitting. I’ve finished a couple projects over the past month that I want to highlight.

My favorite is this little dress I made for Maddie. The pattern can be found here for those who are interested. The website is called Petite Purls, and it’s a great resource for free toddler and child knitting patterns. This was my first large project, and also my first using yarn from my local yarn shop, In the Making.

It’s unfortunately a little bit small for her, since I neglected to do a gauge swatch. I think it’s adorable, though, and she’s worn it to church a few times. I’m hoping we have another girl so that it will be worn again.

After finishing the dress, I started a top for myself, but I didn’t like the purple and green yarn and the pattern together (Although I love both separately–I’ll be starting the top again later this summer with another yarn.) Instead, I used the yarn I had purchased from Eat.Sleep.Knit to make this shawl.

I’m not sure what I’ll do the shawl yet. I love it and it looks great on me wrapped around like a scarf, but I’m thinking I might donate it or something. Still deciding.

I’ve got several projects on the needles right now as well, including a little lamb for a new baby, and another top for me (different from the one mentioned above.) I’m hoping to do a monthly summary of my knitting projects from now on, so talk of knitting doesn’t become too dominate around here. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 9:18 PM

    I’m really impressed with all of your projects. I have started many crochet projects that I have not finished. Partly because I tend to choose things that are out of my league. But your post is inspiring me. When we get settled here, I want to try to finish a few things!

Leave a Reply

