Skip to content

So How Does My Garden Grow?

May 5, 2010

With empty beds and tools in sheds and little seeds all in their packs.

So the other day I looked up from my knitting needles and realized: It’s May!?! Already? What happened to April? I should have started my seeds a month ago!

The pictures you saw the other week was a gardening day, to be sure, but we only put in 3 tomato plants with their cages. They look lovely, if only a little aphid infested. (I think the recent rain has solved that problem.)

I sometimes think I’m more of gardener in theory rather than practice. I love to sit curled up with a gardening catalog and browse for out of season flowers and produce, but once the season comes around I delay or forget or figure I’ll get to it tomorrow. I’ve got seeds for gorgeous wildflowers, melons, squash, beans, peppers, eggplant–all heirloom varieties. They’re sitting on a shelf idly awaiting the day they get to see the sun.  And the thing is, I know in 2 months I’m going to be so mad at myself when I’m buying armfuls of produce at the farmers market, and wishing I could be pulling it from my own garden.

There is a little hope, though. It’s not too late plant some of them, especially the pumpkins and flowers. Maybe I can get to it someday this week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 10:16 AM

    I understand! I am always behind, and the garden in my mind is not the garden in my yard. We just keep trying!

Trackbacks

  1. Life in Bullet Points « The Nurturing Mama

Leave a Reply

