Skip to content

Cloth Diapering Dilemna

May 3, 2010

I mentioned in this post that I’m a huge fanatic about cloth diapering. I still am. I’m so used to the ebb and flow of routine that it doesn’t phase me to do the extra steps of washing and folding diapers. I would never reconsider my choice about the matter if it wasn’t for one thing: diaper rash.

I won’t go into detail, but suffice it to say that she’s never had one this bad before, and I think it’s because of the diapers. I’ve put her in some disposables I already had on hand, and it was getting significantly better. But back in cloth, it got bad again.

I’m not sure what to do at this point. I’ve tried washing and rewashing the diapers with my natural detergent, stripping them with oxygen bleach, and drying in the sun, but nothing seems to help. I think I may switch to disposables for the time being until it clears up entirely, then try the cloth again. I’ve tried some more natural diaper creams, but I may have to go purchase something a little stronger. I hate to see my poor little girl uncomfortable!

Do you have any other suggestions? Should I try a different detergent or something? I’m not ready to give up my diapers just yet, so your thoughts are appreciated!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    May 11, 2010 3:41 AM

    hey thats gr8 to hear …. in a world of ppl who use dispoable diapers … 2 thumbs up to u … out here .. we use more of cloth than the dispoable ones … and im suprised to hear tht ur lil one has the rash when using the cloth !!
    i hope the cloth is of gud quality … and i suggest u use a bathing soap to wash the diapers … maybe its the detergent thts giving her problems … it cud also be the wipes u r using …. if she never had this before , u shud really try to find out what u changed in ur routine .. maybe a new brand of detergent or wipes .
    hope it helps !
    ann

  2. meins permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:22 PM

    great work on the cloth– we use a combination of cloth, disposables (for traveling
    and grandma) and elimination communication. have you tried simply giving more
    ‘airtime’ to your little one? she may simply be sensitive to any sort of moisture, which
    would explain why the disposables don’t seem to irritate her. best of luck.

  3. August 25, 2010 10:19 AM

    I use only cotton diapers now, with wool covering. I found that if I strayed away from the all natural fibers, my babe would get a rash. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

