Skip to content

Three Little Hats, All in a Row

April 23, 2010

Knitting has been all-consuming lately. I’m totally in love. Completely smitten. This new hobby of mine just suits me perfectly, and I may never, ever, ever get tired of it. Maybe it suits me a little too perfectly, as I spend a few hours every night working on projects after Maddie is asleep. And I spend way too much time on Ravelry looking up more and more projects that l want to do. I may never finish them all. I may just have to be buried with my knitting needles so I can finish everything I want to start. πŸ™‚

I’ve been cranking out projects left and right for the new babies in my life. And, I absolutely love making baby hats. They whip up quickly, aren’t too hard, but are interesting enough to be fun. I learned how to knit in the round with these (they’re basically a knitted tube that’s closed on one end). I’m always looking for project to help improve my skills.

Here is the trio of hats I completed over the last month:

It’s a little hard to get size perspective on these, but they’re all newborn sized. I tried to put them on Maddie, but they were a bit too small to go over her 18-month-old sized head. The third hat is my favorite–I love the flower and the colors I chose. It’s resting on a grapefruit to give it shape. I wish I had thought of that with my first two photos!

The first two hats aren’t the same–one is lighter in color. These are going to a friend that is having twin boys next month. The beautiful red hat is for another friend due at the beginning of June. Her baby shower was last weekend, and I made a complete set for her–the hat, a pair of socks (with matching flowers!), and an adorable frog with a tennis ball inside (so he bounces!).

I’m about halfway done with a super cute sundress for Maddie. I can’t wait to finish it, and I’m really hoping it fits! This is my hardest and largest project by far, so I hope it comes out okay.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:47 AM

    Aww I really love the one with the flower! They are all so cute!

    I saw this on Facebook and thought you might be interested:
    http://petitepurls.com/Spring10/index.html

    • April 30, 2010 1:12 PM

      Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the link too! I actually found that website a month or so ago, and I love it so much. I just finished a project for Maddie from that site. I’m hoping to get a post up about it sometime this week. πŸ™‚

  2. May 8, 2010 1:45 PM

    So cute! I love them!

Trackbacks

  1. So How Does My Garden Grow? « The Nurturing Mama

Leave a Reply

