Skip to content

To My Maddie-Girl: 18 Months

April 10, 2010

My friend Ashley writes letters to her little girl every few months, and I loved the idea. This is a wee bit late, as Maddie’s 18-month birthday was 4 days ago.

To Maddie:

18 months have come and gone, but it seems like only yesterday that we brought you home to our little apartment in Houston. You were so eager to get into this world, and you’ve not slowed down since! You’ve always been a curious baby. You can’t get enough of exploring this great big world, and you feel the need to try everything, especially if Mommy is doing it! You simply love to be outside, and usually ask several times a day if we can go play in the grass or take a walk down the street. I can’t wait to take you outside to garden! You can be a little stubborn, though, especially when there is so much to explore. If we’re shopping at the craft store, you always want to go your own way and see everything!

You’re an absolute delight to be with, Maddie. You’re always a smiley little thing, and I call  you my little giggle-box. Your laughter always brings a smile to my face, and you’re laughing most of the day. You’re always optimistic–even when the kitties are less than thrilled to see you, your always smiling and laughing at them.

You’re developing so fast now; it seems as if you’re learning a new word every day! You’re very first word was “up,” but you’re able to express yourself so much more now. You can tell me if you’re hungry and want food, or if you want to cuddle, or if you’re ready to wear your favorite pair of shoes. You surprise me all the time with the things you understand, especially when I think you’re still too young. You know when I grab my purse that it’s time to go “bye-bye,” and you so eagerly wait by the door to get in your carseat!

My most favorite thing, though, is how much you love to cuddle. Most mornings, right after our breakfast, you curl up in my lap and snuggle with me while we watch a cartoon or two. I love that so much! Never grow out of that!

I love watching you grow up, sweet girl. I can’t wait to see the big girl you become!

Love,

Mommy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 10:09 PM

    So sweet! You forgot to mention that she won a cute baby photo contest!

  2. April 23, 2010 10:28 PM

    Hehe. Yeah, maybe I should mention that. 🙂 I may just put up a link to your post.

Leave a Reply

