Skip to content

Seed-Stitch Scarf

March 20, 2010

I’ve officially completed my first knitting project! For quite some time now, I’ve wanted to pick up knitting needles and create beautiful scarves for myself and for gifts. However, my past attempts have proved futile. I kept dropping stitches and it seemed to take forever to even get a row done! I tried crocheting, and the same thing happened. I didn’t really understand what all the fuss was about, because it seemed really tedious and rather hard. I put the needles down for months (even years) at a time and went back to my other loves, cross-stitching and quilting.

After watching a few knitting shows on PBS, and seeing my sister quickly knit together a scarf, I figured it can’t be that hard. My mom, sister, and I went to the fabric store and I picked up a really pretty self-striping yarn. I couldn’t wait to get home and dig out my knitting needles from amongst the crafting heap in my closet. Once found, I began again using a simple seed stitch pattern and only 14 stitches on the needle.

The result? See for yourself! Oh, and pardon the messy house, and don’t you think my windowsill takes great pictures? 🙂

And the best part is that I finally get it! I understand what the fuss is about now. Knitting is really enjoyable once you know what you’re doing.  Now that I’ve finished my first project, I want to expand from the realm of scarves. I kept my sights on them because I figured anything else would be too hard. Now that I understand how to knit, I can’t wait to try my hand at hats, tea cozies, and baby items!

Stay tuned for a post next week with knitting tips for beginners!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 12:54 PM

    That’s a beautiful scarf! I look forward to my birthday then. 😉 (just kidding!)

    • March 21, 2010 2:15 PM

      Thanks!

      You never know; you might end up with one. Scarves are a great way to practice techniques like cables and lace, so I may make too many and have to give some away. Of course, if I make you one as a gift, it will be specifically for you and not one of my practice ones. 😉

  2. April 22, 2010 10:37 PM

    Beth,

    I hadn’t checked your blog recently and I just found out about this new one. I’ll have to catch up on everything. That scarf is so cute! I love it!

    Glad to see you’re doing well! Tell Stu that we say hello!

    Leslie

    • April 23, 2010 9:51 PM

      Hi Leslie!

      I’m so glad you found the new site! I’ve missed your comments. I’ve been keeping up with your site, and I’m so glad your doing well too! I can’t wait to see pictures of your new little one soon. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Spring Cleaning Carnival: Pots and Pans and One Cabinet « The Nurturing Mama

Leave a Reply

