Skip to content

Kitchen Spring Cleaning Carnival: Pantry Cleanup

March 14, 2010

We have the tiniest kitchen for our house size (3 bed, 2 bath). Before we moved in, I counted the cabinets and drawer. It’s exactly the same as our old 1 bedroom apartment back in Houston. Wait, scratch that. This house has one less drawer than before.

Since we have so little space in the kitchen, I use our master closet as a pantry. So yes, those are pants that you see in my pictures. 🙂 Here in the before picture, everything was a disorganized mess, but really there is not much here. I plan on using this space for more bulk storage, but I’m still trying to find room in my budget to purchase flour, oats, and beans in bulk.

Here is the after picture:

Ahhh. Much better! Maddie is here helping out. On the top, I put all of my canning jars, as well as a few canned goods. These were scattered all over the floor. The middle shelf holds Stu’s snacks and quick meals. The next shelf is my baking supply shelf, and the bottom holds all of my “bulk” stuff: beans, oats, rice, etc. I keep the potatoes and onions on the floor, with the potatoes on one side and the onions on the other. I hope they’re far enough apart to keep from sprouting!

While this is cleaner, it’s still not very functional for me. Ideally, I would love to get an antique cabinet for the kitchen to store pantry items, but that’s just not feasible right now.  It can be rather tedious to get my supplies out of our master closet. The way our house is designed, I have to close the bedroom door to open the closet door, grab my ingredients, then close the closet door to open the bedroom door. Until we can afford a cabinet to put in our kitchen, I’ll just have to make do with canisters on the counter, which I’m hoping to purchase soon. I collect Fiesta china, and I would love to get a set of matching canisters to hold flour, sugar, and rice. Those are the ingredients I use the most, and it would save so much time going back and forth!

Oh well, it’s fun to dream! 🙂

For more Kitchen Spring Cleaning, visit The Nourishing Gourmet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 2:26 PM

    Maddie says, “I am here to make your pantry a disorganized mess again!” 🙂

    I know what it’s like to not have a pantry in the kitchen! I have the same problem, but I was able to put a baker’s rack in the kitchen for the pantry. I suspect that will get REALLY old when Savannah is crawling/walking. 🙂

    • March 14, 2010 8:02 PM

      We have the shelf in our closet for that reason. Maddie would pull everything off otherwise. If we purchase something for storage in the kitchen, it would definitely have to have doors to keep her out!

Leave a Reply

